Russia's Nemtsov, Saudi's Badawi, listed for EU rights prize

Russia's Nemtsov, Saudi's Badawi, listed for EU rights prize

Assassinated Russian opposition leader Boris Nemtsov, a Ukraine military pilot held on murder charges by Moscow and jailed Saudi Arabian blogger Raif Badawi were shortlisted Thursday for the European Parliament's prestigious Sakharov human rights prize.

The prize is awarded every year to honour individuals who combat intolerance, fanaticism and oppression, often falling foul of their governments as a result.

Nemtsov, a 55-year-old former deputy prime minister turned critic of President Vladimir Putin, was gunned down on a bridge just steps from the Kremlin in late February.

His murder sparked global outrage and condemnation as evidence that Putin's Russia would not tolerate dissident voices.

Authorities have so far failed to track down his killers.

A Saudi Arabian court sentenced Badawi, 31, to 1,000 lashes and 10 years in jail last year for insulting Islam but halted the whippings after a first round.

The European Union condemned the sentence, saying "corporal punishment is unacceptable and contrary to human dignity."

The Russian authorities meanwhile put helicopter pilot Nadiya Savchenko on trial in July for her alleged involvement in the killing of two Russian journalists in war-torn eastern Ukraine last year.

Among the other nominees were US intelligence whistle-blower Edward Snowden whose name was also put forward in 2013; Antoine Deltour who leaked details on Luxembourg's controversial tax break deals with huge multinational firms; and Stephanie Gibaud, who uncovered tax evasion and money laundering at Swiss banking giant UBS.

Also listed were Edna Adan Ismai, a Somali campaigner against female genital mutilation and the Mesa da la Unidad Democracia which represents political prisoners and opposition groups in Venezuela.

The winner will be announced in October.

Last year, the Parliament awarded the prize to Congolese doctor Denis Mukwege for helping victims of gang rapes by soldiers.

Past winners include Pakistani education campaigner Malala Yousafzai, late South African rights icon Nelson Mandela and Myanmar activist Aung San Suu Kyi. The prize carries an award of 50,000 euros ($56,000).

Facebook Twitter Google+ Pinterest
Login to post comments